My 30 Day Meditation Experience

Karthik Bhandary
4 min readOct 27, 2020

I am a 19 year old and it’s one of the age groups with lots of stress and anxiety. Being a teen now-a-days is not easy. You have so many things to deal with and worry about. The career, Degree, Relationships and the most important one is that you are not a kid anymore. It’s not only about us but it’s about everyone. Everyday we deal with lots of stress and we want to deal with that but how? simple answer is MEDITATION.

Why Meditate?

People used to have a misconception that meditation is for people who seek spirituality. Well, They are not wrong but, At the same time they are not right. It is for everyone. You do not have to be seeking spirituality for doing meditation. You can just do it for Relaxation. You can do it to kill time. There is no need for a it to be anything special.

Some myths about meditation is that, one will not be angry at all no matter what happens. I have to say that it’s not true. By meditating you will be able to control the anger(for the sake of discussion) but can’t get rid of it. We all are humans so we will get angry. It is one of the emotions that makes us Humans. we will be able to be take things lightly for most of the time if we meditate.

My Experience with it

I am a teenager so it not a surprising thing that I am very irritable and I get angry very easily. It’s pretty common in teenagers. I heard that you can control your emotions if you meditate. So, I started with 10 minutes for 10 days, not more than that.

For the first 2–3 days, it was really uncomfortable. All the thoughts that keep coming to you mind and the struggle to control them, it was a mess. Slowly I started to focus and controlling the thoughts. Actually, it not controlling the thoughts rather it is acknowledging that fact(drifting into thoughts) and slowing focusing on keeping you mind blank.

After 10 days of familiarizing and cultivating the habit I increased the time by five minutes and started doing for 15 minutes. As usual it not easy. I was not motivated at the start but I had a goal that “I will do this for 30 days without any gaps”. So, I sit down and start meditating, for next 10 days. In these 10 days I had increased the focus a tad bit high and I had less thoughts than I had in the start. It pretty much became a habit.

After doing this for 20 days straight, the last 10 days were a cake walk (Not that of a cake walk but I was able to do it). In these 10 days I increased the time for another 5 minutes which totaled to 20 minutes. With this I completed my 30 days of meditation.

What I did is:

  • First 10 days — 10 minutes
  • Second 10 days — 15 minutes
  • Last 10 days — 20 minutes

Improvements that I found

  • I was able to control my emotions (Anger importantly)
  • Stress levels decreased
  • More energetic
  • Increased Focus
  • Bit more optimistic than usual
  • Felt more relaxed (instantly after meditation and overall)
  • Self control

Will I continue doing meditation as a habit?

Yes, I will do meditation everyday and suggest you to do it as well for a minimum of 10 minutes and a maximum of 30 minutes.

Swamy Vivekananda said that the things you like in youth, most of the time are bad things (Social media, internet surfing, sex etc., in our case) and the things that you dislike(Studies, Focusing on career etc.,) are the ones that will bear fruits in future.

We all think of doing meditation but we don’t. We make up excuses. Starting today I urge you to do meditation everyday. I can assure you that you will find change in you within few days. Do it for your sake not for the sake of getting it over with. Be patient you will get the results for sure. All the best!!

--

--